Publishers Sapere Books is to sponsor the Crime Writers’ Association Historical Dagger in a three-year contract, beginning in 2019.

Sapere Books specialise in crime, historical and romantic fiction with a major focus on historical crime. Their published authors include the CWA’s vice chair Linda Stratmann and other crime writers in the Sapere stable include J C Briggs – both novelists are Victorian specialists.

Martin Edwards, Chair of the CWA, said: “The independence and integrity of the Daggers judging process, coupled with the heritage of the Daggers, which date back to the 1950s, mean that the CWA Daggers are unquestionably the UK’s most prestigious crime writing awards.  I’m absolutely delighted that the relationship between the CWA and Sapere is being further strengthened by this sponsorship, and we very much look forward to working with such an innovative and forward-thinking publisher.”

Amy Durant, director of Sapere Books said: “Sapere Books is a digital-first publisher with a keen interest in historical and contemporary crime fiction and thrillers. Having launched in March 2018, Sapere Books now has forty authors signed to its list and has plans to continue expanding over the coming months. We are open for submissions and are keen to hear from crime writers, particularly those who are working on a planned series, or who have out-of-print titles which could be reissued digitally. We are very grateful for the support the CWA has shown us since our launch and we are thrilled to be the new sponsors for the Historical Dagger Award.”

In 2018 the CWA Historical Dagger was won by Rory Clements for Nucleus, with other authors shortlisted including L C Tyler, Stella Duffy and Nicola Upson.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This